top of page

Preparation for Rwanda


(Photo: Getty Images/iStockphoto)

It's hard to believe that in less than a week I will be driving to D.C. for training, and I will be in Rwanda in only two weeks! It seems like yesterday I was in college reading The Bottom Billion by Paul Collier for one of my political science classes dreaming of the day to travel to Africa where I would truly be able to make a difference in the world.

Traveling to a developing country comes with many responsibilities such as finances, shots, health, medication, and studying in advance the country of Rwanda. In fact, I spend most of my few days remaining preparing for my internship in Rwanda. However, I know from experience that my attempts to evaluate every scenario of what might occur will not adequately prepare me for the cultural shock I am about to endure.

I will be living in an entirely different environment which will likely highlight how I truly have taken for granted the privileges I have here in the United States of America. For example, plumbing, water, WiFi; not to mention air conditioning! I have been fortunate to have lived with all these comforts only to learn that not everyone has the same opportunities that I have had.

Residing in a developing country will be difficult at times, and I will need to adjust, however, I am confident that I can do it! As a professor from my University once told me "Learning is in the Struggle" and I must struggle to learn! Bon Voyage!

bottom of page