top of page

Goals and Fears for Rwanda

I can't believe that tomorrow is the day, I go to D.C.!!

Over the last serval months of tedious interviews, writing and discussing my placement in Rwanda; I have been asked many times what are your goals and fears for Rwanda?

My immediate goals for Rwanda are simple. Make it to the country without getting sick, encountering immigration issues or getting my bag lost or stolen! As for my long-term goals, I would like to learn about Rwanda's culture. As days progress I am starting to understand that I don't deeply want to create change or even the social impact organization I am working for. In fact, I just want to know the people of Rwanda and the organization I am interning for. I do not wish to come to Rwanda and dictate my ideas, culture and American ideology on them. However, I would like to become to understand their way life.

Once this has been established, I need to know how business is conducted in Rwanda such as laws, customs, and business relations. I cannot make a difference or even be helpful until I understand the basics of Rwanda and Social Impact organizations in developing countries. When I complete all of these goals, I will then begin to set longer term goals for my 8-week internship.

Usually, when I tell people, I am going to Rwanda. The first reaction I get is where it is located? After I say the country is in Africa... they look at me like I have ten heads! As I can only imagine what they are thinking; a young girl like April goes to Africa for the summer why facing its dangers and the depths of poverty. What could she possibly get out of going to Rwanda that she could not get in the United States? After many follow up questions and suggestions on what to bring to Rwanda, they then ask me what my fears are?

Usually, I answer with some kind, simple response to such as getting mugged. This is the answer that some people fear: she is going to get mugged or worse. However, this is not my fear. Instead, I am afraid something much worse: the "unknown" and the "what-ifs" because these subjects are uncertain and often unpredictable. My fears are all unknown. Will I be lonely, not having anyone to talk to? Will I not like my job? All my questions are related to the fact that I have so little control. I can't control the people around me, the environment or even the internship I was placed in. However, I can control myself. Whatever happens to me in Rwanda; I will write my story.

The only way to know what's going to happen is to move on to the next adventure, which is Rwanda.

That's all for know see you in D.C.!!!

-April Ferguson

bottom of page