top of page

Arriving in Kigali, Rwanda

I am currently in Kigali, Rwanda where I am staying at Discover Hostel which partnered up with Red Rocks Rwanda.

When I arrived last night, the plan was to meet with my scholar and go to the Tea House which is a bed and breakfast; with the other Ambassador Corps people interning in Rwanda. To my surprise, my supervisor met me at the airport and told both me and the scholar about his plans for me to stay at Discover Hostel. At first, I was a bit upset; I wanted to stay with my support system, in a place that had the same comforts as home. However, I soon thought to myself that this is just another opportunity to become more adaptable to different circumstances. I was so touched that my supervisor who did not know me would pay for a room with my very own bedroom and bathroom!

As we were driving to Discover Hostel and I was looking around at this beautiful country, my supervisor asked me what do you think of Rwanda? How do you feel about Discover Hostel? Does everything look okay? Do you have any ideas to improve? All these questions somewhat made me a bit overwhelmed in the United States, in most of my internships or work study positions it was rare for people to ask for my opinion. Even though I have only been in Rwanda for one day, I feel so welcomed and loved. As I am an outsider, who knows microscopic about this country and for someone to ask me what I think warms my heart.

Once they left me, I looked around the room and thought to myself; this is not too bad; however in the middle of the night I found a HUGE spider crawling up my leg. Now you maybe

thinking that I freaked out. However, I did not instead I just stared at it and watched it get closer and closer to my face! I soon realized what was happening and flicked the spider off me. As I write this, I still can't believe I did not have a panic attack or freak out! Over the last couple of weeks, I have changed and adapted so much that I don't even recognize myself anymore. I am starting to become like my role models, as I am a strong independent woman!

Even though I am adjusting well to this new and different environment, the hardest thing about living in Rwanda is taking showers. Currently, I have running water, so that is good news! But the hard part is trying to shower SUPER FAST because you need to hold your breath to make sure you don't drink any of the water. In addition to this, the showers here remind me when I was in Costa Rica; as you need to hold this hose over your head while you shampoo!

Overall the first couple of days in Rwanda has been a success! I have so many different opportunities that I never thought was possible. I still can't believe I am in Rwanda, I never want to leave!

That's all for now next time I report I will be in Ruhengeri, Rwanda!

-April Ferguson

bottom of page